Seidenberg Student-Faculty Research Pairs Shine

Meghan Kenny and Christelle Scharff

Seidenberg student-faculty research pairs placed first on both campuses in the first-ever Undergraduate Student-Faculty Research Showcases. On the Pleasantville campus, Marc Kowtko (BS/IT ’15) and Professor Jean Coppola won for their work in open source assistive technology for older adults and people with disabilities. In New York, Meghan Kenny (BA/Psychology ’14) and Professor Christelle Scharff took first place for their collaboration on how mobile technology can be used to raise awareness around the world in regard to destructive environmental practices and to promoting sustainability. Continue reading “Seidenberg Student-Faculty Research Pairs Shine”

Professor Richard Kline Receives Jefferson Award

Professor Richard “Rick” Kline is this year’s recipient of the Pace University Bronze Medal Jefferson Award for outstanding community service. Through his teaching of Problem Solving using LEGO Robotics, his extensive involvement with the robotics programs sponsored by the FIRST organization, and his mentoring of participants in the Seidenberg Summer Experience, among many other robotics-related activities, he has excelled in fostering a strong sense of fun and excitement among young people in the exploration of science and technology. Continue reading “Professor Richard Kline Receives Jefferson Award”

Pace University Named as a 2012 Computerworld Honors Laureate

A recent review of Professor Jean Coppola’s Gerontechnology Program by an International Data Group (IDG) panel has resulted in Pace being named a 2012 Computerworld Honors Laureate. This honor recognizes organizations and individuals that have developed innovative applications of information technology to promote positive social, economic and educational change. Continue reading “Pace University Named as a 2012 Computerworld Honors Laureate”

Dyson Student Awarded Melissa Riggio Higher Education Program Scholarship

In appreciation of the mentoring that Pace students in Professor James Lawler’s CIS 102W service learning course do with developmentally and intellectually challenged clients of AHRC NYC, the organization established the Melissa Riggio Higher Education Program Scholarship.

This award of $1,000 was given to Nadezhda “Hope” Goldfard, a Dyson psychology major, for her ongoing efforts on behalf of individuals affiliated with AHRC.

Continue reading “Dyson Student Awarded Melissa Riggio Higher Education Program Scholarship”

Seidenberg Faculty Receive ‘Best Paper Awards’ at Information Systems Education Conference

Two of the 10 Best Paper Awards given out at the recent Information Systems Education Conference (ISECON) went to Seidenberg School faculty – Professor James Lawler and Professor Anthony Joseph for their research in cloud computing and Professor John Molluzzo and Vijal Doshi (MS/IS) for their paper on social networking. Continue reading “Seidenberg Faculty Receive ‘Best Paper Awards’ at Information Systems Education Conference”